Identity

Have you ever pondered what your identity is and how it developed?

If you have, does your identity stem from comments people made to you growing up, your sexual preferences, your job / workplace, your martial status, your wealth?

As I pondered this question I realised what I want my identity to be and what it is are two different things.

As a Christian I want my identity to be in Christ, a daughter of Christ (John 1:12, Ephesians 1:5), a new creation (2 Corinthians 5:17), bride of Christ (although that is something the church as a whole is rather than an individual). In my head I know what this means, but in my heart I strive to be this person and get way laid by others opinions of me and my history of hurts / wounds.

But, in reality, I don’t need to strive to be a daughter of Christ! I already am that person, but only because I have accepted Christ as my Saviour / Redeemer and for no other reason.

Christ came to earth to rescue all humankind and bring them back into a familial relationship with God, not because we deserve it or because we can earn His favour but because He loves us and wants us to have this type of relationship with Him.

This is real love—not that we loved God, but that he loved us…

1 John 4:10

Leave a Reply

